According to legislation the Pan South African Language Board established by national legislation must—
     (a) promote, and create conditions for, the development and use of—
        (i) all official languages;
        (ii) the Khoi, Nama and San languages; and
        (iii) sign language ; and
        (b) promote and ensure respect for—
        (i) all languages commonly used by communities in South Africa, including German, Greek, Gujarati, Hindi, Portuguese, Tamil, Telegu and Urdu; and
        (ii) Arabic, Hebrew, Sanskrit and other languages used for religious purposes in South Africa.

FROM: South African Constitution (1996) - Founding Provisions

The Christian, Jewish, Hindu and Muslim religious communities require language knowledge for the interpretation of their scriptures. The respective languages are Greek, Latin, Hebrew, Sanskrit and Arabic.

© J. Olivier (2009)